Initial Driver CPC

To drive HGVs and PCVs at a professional and commercial level, drivers must complete statutory training to be issued with a Driver Qualification Card (DQC). So, this course if for any driver who requires to drive HGVs and PCVs at a professional and commercial level, and need to hold a Driver Qualification Card (DQC).

Find Out More Information Below



Find out more

Pressed for time but might need something? We will contact you.

  • Note: This form is for corporate/business enquiries. For learner driving , please click here to visit the “Learn to Drive” part of our website and book lessons.

Why do you need a CPC qualification?

First introduced in September 2008 (PCV) and September 2009 (HGV), Driver CPC has 3 main objectives:

  • Improve road safety
  • Underpin and expand on current driver knowledge e.g. driver hours, digital tachographs, rules and regulations etc.
  • Ensure new entrants have the required skills and knowledge to carry out their duties as professional drivers.

What does the course consist of?

There are four modules in the Driver CPC. To obtain a licence, trainees will need to pass all of the following modules;

1. Module 1a and 1b – Theory test

– Theory test consisting of 100 multiple choice questions.

– Hazard perception theory test.

2. Module 2 – Case study

– The scenarios are designed to reflect situations a professional PCV or LGV driver will encounter in his or her working life.

3. Module 3 – Practical test

– 1.5-hour practical driving test. This will include tell me show me questions, reversing exercise and approximately 1 hour driving on the public highway.

4. Module 4 – Demonstration test

– Practical associated knowledge exam. No driving is required for this part, but you will need a suitable vehicle to demonstrate your answers. It’s all about what a driver does whilst not driving.